Chewy Iced Oatmeal Cookies

I came across a recipe for Iced Oatmeal Cookies on Pinterest a few days ago.  I was intrigued because it is a cookie I have never tried (sometimes I don’t know how that is possible), and because the recipe said it was chewy.  And, unless we are talking about a ginger snap, I like my cookies chewy.  So here is the original recipe I found, and my directions will follow.  http://www.whatmegansmaking.com/2013/12/soft-iced-oatmeal-cookies.html

oatmeal cookies

ICED OATMEAL COOKIES

Cookies:

2 cups old-fashioned oats, pulsed in a food processor for 10-20 seconds

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

Glaze:

2 cups confectioners sugar

3-4 tbsp milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking sheets, set aside.

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the pulsed oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg.

In the bowl of an electric mixer (or in a large bowl with hand mixer), cream butter and sugars until smooth.  Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition.  Beat in vanilla.  Gradually mix in flour mixture, until combined.  Cover and chill 30 minutes to 1 hour.  Roll dough into 2 tbsp size balls (I used my tablespoon scoop instead, so my cookies came out as normal sized cookies.  If you do 2 tbsp, they will be pretty big) Place on baking sheets about 2 inches apart.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until the bottoms begin to brown.  Cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Make the glaze:

Mix confectioners sugar and 3 tbsp milk together. Add the last tbsp slowly until you reach a nice glaze consistency.  (you may not use all of the last tbsp of milk).  Quickly dip the tops of the cookies into the glaze and let excess drip off.  Place back on wire rack until glaze sets.  Store cookies in an airtight container.

Notes:

*I did this recipe with my kids (who love to bake, but need to have their own bowls/spoons/ingredients, which means if I want no arguing, I have to make two batches of cookies).  So one kid made these and one kid made Chocolate Chip – which worked out great, because almost all the ingredients are the same :-)  Yay for less arguing.

*Using my 1 tbsp scoop, this recipe made approximately 4dz cookies.  It would probably make around half that if you use 2 tbsp per cookie.

*These were a HUGE hit in our house – I hope they are in your as well!

Leave a Reply

